Some health professionals suggest that older people spend more time socializing with others and playing sports to stay healthy, but many retired people have experienced loneliness and a lack of fitness. Why has this happened? What can be done to address this?

A school of thought, currently emphasized mainly by medical professionals, encourages older adults to indulge in social activities and to be engaged more often. However, older adults find it difficult to break away from the loneliness that they face after retirement. In this swiftly-evolving era, there is a chaotic quest for better careers, higher societal positions and power. Consequently, people spent very little time on a self-care regime. As a result, individuals acquire a lot of different ailments over time in terms of mental and physical well-being. When they reach old age, this affects individuals in grievous ways, about which I will be expanding in the paragraphs to follow. There are many reasons why the elderly are hesitant in remaining active. One of the reasons of paramount importance is that, when a person who was independent and capable of carrying out different responsibilities professionally is shunned away from those duties, they tend to feel extremely low. Such pessimistic thoughts may make the person keep to themselves. Also starting new habits at an older age may be difficult for them. Secondly, senior citizens are often fearful of risking their health in activities that seem strenuous and exhausting for them. For example, aged citizens prefer spending time reading a book rather than taking a walk outdoors as they fear the risk of a fall or injury. Undoubtedly, keeping oneself active and thinking positive is key to having good mental fitness and long life. There are numerous ways to tackle the problem of inactivity among older people. Firstly, retired individuals and others of older age groups should attend more social gatherings and events. The younger generation can motivate them by organizing family gatherings or events for them to be a part of and make them feel active. Furthermore, they can also be encouraged to be members of various local clubs which organize programmes and activities for individuals. Also, learning a new sport, language or a novel skill can also aid in keeping their minds active, thus making them less prone to neurodegenerative disorders such as dementia and Alzheimer's disease. In addition, staying idle and aloof may deteriorate the pre-existing skills and the outcome may be detrimental to the older individuals. Creating awareness about the same in the community should be a primary focus. To conclude, whether retired, working, or a student, keeping oneself fit and healthy, both mentally and physically is an important aspect of life. The earlier we create a habit, the easier it is to carry on throughout our life. Also, it is never too late to make changes in our life and hence, we need to start creating good habits to enhance and make ourselves efficient enough.