Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

The trend of learning a foreign language is rising in the air, some of them have their own purposes for this such as travel, work, communication or just to widen their knowledge. However, some groups of people cannot recognize their aim so clearly, and that is why many controversial opinions are born. In addition to the sake of traveling or working in other countries, I think that there are other reasons for being bilingual or multilingual. Obviously, our community’s main goals in learning another language are to work and travel. The higher level of language you have, the more chances of being offered to more job opportunities with a better workplace or higher salary. Also, knowing a second language is a plus point to your CV for every job since we are living in a world in which globalization appears to be inevitable. Needless to say that getting to know a foreign language, especially English, which is well-known to be the international language, is a need in cross-cultural situations. In other words, it seems obvious that we are learning a second language to simplify our ability to communicate with foreigners including entrepreneurs coming from different countries. As the same to travel, there are a variety of countries in the world and one of the easiest ways to approach cultures and promote cultural exchange is to use the same language with them. Learning a foreign language is generally considered to be a way to widen our knowledge about one or more countries. When you start to learn, you will start to find out all about them like costumes, cuisines… Moreover, knowing how to use foreign languages does not only inform others of the fact that you are a person of multi-cultural knowledge but also acts as an effective way for you to show respect for foreigners while talking to them in their language. In fact, we can actually benefit more from learning another language besides our mother tongue. For instance, having a multilingual experience brings us several medical advantages since it leads to improvement in cognitive and sensory processes in our brain. Scientifically, speaking more than one language make our brain remain in pristine conditions for a very long time. When it comes to the growth of tourism in our country, we can always show them our friendliness with the help of English. That way, the name of our country can be well-known not only in the vicinity of our own continent but also across the world. More and more foreign visitors will pay us a visit, which contributes to the development of our tourism as well as the economy of our nation. In conclusion, there are many more reasons why people should learn a foreign language which is not only to work or travel. And I believe that anyone learning a new language has their own purpose which is always beneficial to them.