The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, there have been immense advances in social networking sites in most aspects of people's lives, especially in the field of communication. While there are some merits that online conversation tools have brought to our lives, I hold a conviction that its pronounced drawbacks are more significant. On the one hand, social networking sites have brought significant benefits to our lives. The first point deemed to be pertinent to the statement is that these social tools have revolutionized the ways people communicate with each other. The critical rationale in favour of this matter is that the proliferation of such state-of-the-art channels as Facebook or YouTube has facilitated communication between human beings, especially those living in different nations. Another solid point is that because of a wealth of available helpful information on the Internet, social conversation tools have helped its users to broaden their horizons in many facets. On the other hand, there are several reasons why social media's disadvantages seem more serious. On the individual level, it is pretty harmful to people when they spend excessive time on social channels. In fact, internet users, especially youngsters, are more likely to lack face-to-face communication skills, which might reduce family closeness and emotional connection. On the societal level, it would be dangerous for the whole society when private data and information are hacked and shared on the Internet. For example, many Vietnamese bank accounts were leaked and published on some internet-based platforms in 2020, leaving significant disastrous consequences in the long run. In conclusion, I wholeheartedly opine that although social media might be of paramount importance for people to communicate daily, its positive matters are surpassed by its disadvantages.