Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed by some professionals that children should start learning other than their mother tongue in elementary school instead of waiting until middle school to introduce a foreign language. Although this might be confusing and stressful for youngsters, it definitely contributes to enhancing their linguistic skills. In my view, I believe that the perks overshadow the cons. On the one hand, the greatest benefit of introducing a foreign language in the primary school curricula is that the students' potential to master a language at such a young age is really high compared to those in secondary school. Primary students are not as self-conscience as they are in their teenage years, so they are not afraid to practice out loud and be judged on their mistakes. For example, my niece started learning french at a private elementary school and he is way more fluent now compared to me when I was his age because he has all the time to practice and learn from his mistakes. Therefore, introducing a foreign language at such young age rather than in the secondary school allows pupils to significantly develop their linguistic skills. On the other hand, one of the main disadvantages of this trend is that it might be extra pressure on children with all the school subjects they have to study. In other words, some pupils are already struggling to cope with the stress of learning all of that being taught at once, hence, adding a foreign language can be overwhelming and raise a feeling of disappointment and resentment. For instance, children might fail and get confused trying to learn other than their mother tongue making them hate going to school since they will relate that place to stress and pressure. Consequently, teaching a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school may be detrimental for children. To conclude, Some experts deem that adopting more than one language in primary school instead of postponing it to secondary school is way more beneficial for students. In my belief, despite the possible pressure children might have to bear, it doesn't hold much significance compared to the linguistic experience gained at such young age.