In the future all cars, buses, and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles would be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is predicted that drivers will be replaced by AI in almost all types of ground transportation and passengers are going to be the only human beings inside these cars and buses. I am convinced that the benefits of autopilots outweigh possible drawbacks.  On the one hand, artificial intelligence is a perfect solution for many issues connected to cars and human drivers. First of all, the application of autopilots to ground transport guarantees a decrease in the number of car accidents and victims of it. This is because AI is programmed to drive almost perfectly and follow all of the rules on the road, Also it can observe the situation from all angles at the same time via its cameras, which people are unable to do. Secondly, driverless vehicles can solve the problem of traffic congestion as AI has an access to online maps and thanks to the algorithms it can calculate the most effective and less time-consuming route, so there will be less pressure on the roads in the drive time. The fact that in 2021 in California Tesla with an auto pilot and an asleep owner was able to drive away from police for 9 hours until the car got uncharged can be a convincing example of the fact that AI is an outstanding driver. On the other hand, rarely do people realise the risks of driverless transport. As the driving algorithms in the car are designed by people, there are always remaining risks that one line of wrong code can lead to fatal consequences. Error at one operating company could cause a national catastrophe and massive car accidents. Moreover, there is a threat that hackers can hack the operating system of vehicles and create an act of terrorism in order to manipulate the government. There are some examples of when errors in AI systems led to the death of owners. To summarize, I would like to state that the positive effects of the application of autopilots in transport like increasing the safety on the road and solving the traffic jams are tremendous. Therefore, I believe that it outweighs possible risks like hacking the operating system of vehicles.