In some countries, students live with their family while studying at a university. In other countries, students attend university in another city. Do you think the advantages of living away from home while attending university outweigh the disadvantages?

Leaving one's hometown in order to study is a decision that many potential university students have to face. Staying at the family home during the university period is common in some parts of the world; however, in other places, youngsters usually prefer to move to a different city. In my opinion, attending university far from home is much more enriching. To begin with, moving to an unknown place is a clear opportunity for personal growth. If you are surrounded by your family, it is less likely that you will make the effort to build meaningful relationships. Moreover, in the comfort of your home, you might not get used to doing the household chores, let alone if you have never done them. Although these tasks might seem not important, they are vital for sustainable cohabitation. For example, in the future, you might need to distribute them with your partner and not prioritising them can lead to severe discussions. Additionally, professional skills can be developed as a result of studying away. One of the skills that are highly demanded nowadays is the capacity to learn languages easily. For instance, in Spain, people who speak dialects tend to find a job easier since language flexibility is considerably valued. Networking is a soft skill that is also considered essential and that, with no doubt, can be enhanced while meeting students with a variety of backgrounds. Consequently, youngsters might be more open-minded towards understanding other cultures, which is vital for working abroad. In conclusion, I believe that studying in a different city can contribute to youths becoming mentally healthy adults and excellent professionals. I wish increasingly more families will see the potential of such experiences.