Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

As solid waste has become a crucial problem in society, some people argue that citizens are not paying attention to recycling the waste at home. As a result, they claim that setting a legal requirement by the government is the only way to increase recycling. As far as I am concerned, I agree with this view to a small extent as education may be a better way of solving the issue. To begin with, the legal requirement may raise people ’s awareness of recycling. For example, the government can set a limited weight of waste for each household, extra fee will be needed if the waste is overweight. By making recycling a legal requirement, the deterred effect may encourage citizens to think twice before they throw away waste. Therefore, people may try to produce less or recycle their wastes in order to prevent punishments. However, educating the public may be more beneficial to increase recycling at home. As people may not know the undesirable effect on the environment caused by wasting and the importance of recycling, teaching them the knowledge may solve the root of the problem. For instance, society can organize talks or movies on recycling and explain the benefit. Therefore, it is possible for people to care more about the environment and thus learn to recycle. In conclusion, although the deterrent effect may increase recycling, punishments may not be strong enough to prevent people from wasting resources. Nevertheless, education may encourage the public to give more concerned about the environment as well as start to recycle.