In many countries, children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regard this as completely wrong, while others consider it as valuable work experience, important for learning and taking responsibility. Discuss both those views and give your own opinion.

Across many nations, young people are put to do some paid labour. There is a debate among civilians that this is bad while others believe that it is important as it teaches them life. I strongly disagree with society who believe that it is wrong as it provides kids with on-the-job training and networking, although it has benefits, it can also lead to child exploitation and affect their development. Most young people are given on-the-job training. During their time on the job they learn personal financial skills and also how to save which is often not taught in schools. Networking is another opportunity that opens for kids as they shadow other workers in the organisation. Thus, other employees can go with children to conferences and at that time they meet people from different companies. Although there are benefits, there are also disadvantages such as child exploitation. They are companies that may decide to hire young people for lower wages for long hours jobs. Furthermore, there is a firm belief that this may deter their development. Young people should be allowed to play and develop, thus skipping important milestones. For instance, in developing countries, there are reports that young offspring are used to working in mines and also there are reports that they die in high numbers due to exhaustion. In conclusion, I believe that there are more benefits to children having the opportunity to work and experience life. The opportunity to work allows them to meet people who will impart knowledge and open doors for them, on the other hand being hired may also put them in harm's way, where they are susceptible to abuse.