Some people think that e-books are the death of paper books while others think that paper books will never disappear.

Printed books and newspapers have been an essential source of information and leisure for centuries. However, some believe these printed formats are teetering on the edge of extinction because people will soon only read online resources. Conversely, others disagree with this. One could argue that in the past decade, not only are tablets and e-readers becoming widely available and affordable but also numerous platforms and websites provide free services to download stories and access news. For instance, several independent news outlets such as The Intercept and El País are free of cost for readers. Other companies such as Amazon already offer many e- books free of charge. Therefore, it would be just a matter of time before printed versions disappear. However, I do not believe this increased popularity of e-formats will vanish the paper versions of books or newspapers. The obvious argument is that several readers prefer a printed version, perhaps as they enjoy the feeling of touching pages when they read, or some have difficulties following stories using a digital version. Indeed, neuroscientists have published studies showing that e-readers, particularly at an early age, might cause learning disabilities. Since then, many educators have been advocating against them in schools. Therefore, it is unlikely that academic printed material will be replaced for good. Moreover, physical versions may be used for other purposes. This is particularly relevant in decoration; numerous people purchase books or magazines that have nice covers and display them on their bookshelves as a piece of art. In conclusion, there are several reasons why physical books or newspapers are unlikely to disappear. Surely, if they disappeared, it would be an enormous loss to society.