Some people are off the opinion that giving a good first impression at an interviewer is the key securing a good job. To what extent do you agree?

Workplace competency has become a viral topic among fresh graduates. Some people believe that giving a good first impression at an interviewer is the key to securing a good job. While I disagree with the notion, it's important to analyse two opposing opinions to understand the logic behind the distictive sides. With plenty of online courses about answering interview questions that appear on social media, it is nonetheless a crucial preparation in the initial hiring procedure. What a hiring manager keen to see in a candidate is a combination of highly competent traits, such as strong initiative, optimism, self-sufficiency, social skills and confidence. Thus, the aura of an individual during the first meeting will give a signal of whether this person has the relevant experience and attitudes to handle the job scope. Hence, it is undoubtedly that having a well-prepared presentation and speech for the selection process can help with reinforcing your strengths among other potential applicants. However, what a company would emphasise is still the individual's actual contributions and support during their employment. Therefore, the examination of the probation period will filter out the unlucky ones who think of the job requirements superficially. For instance, many who spoke highly of their proficiencies in multiple software and scenarios, happen to encounter obstacles in resolving real-time issues regardless of their glamorous presentation at the interview. In short, the ultimate goal to secure your occupation is to have practical industrial knowledge and the willingness to learn instead of just putting effort into making a good impression. In a nutshell, while acknowledging the advantages of impressing people, I believe acquiring real skills and solid experience will lead one to longer prosperity and a successful career compared to taking the application too casually.