Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reasons for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Some folks have been living in the same hometown for their entire lives. This phenomenon is caused by familiar feelings of the town and being near their relatives. Although this choice allows them to have a better social connection with the residents, they eventually have limited choice of work. Some people decide to permanently stay in their hometown because they are already familiar with every corner of their city. This is because when moving to another city, people need to explore the new neighbourhood. This often causes hassle for some people thus they prefer to stay in a more familiar place. For example, research shows that after moving to another city, the average amount of time needed to adapt to a new environment is around two months. In addition, living nearby will allow folks to frequently visit their family, particularly those who have elderly parents. They usually need to check their parents’ condition more often. Living near the hometown allows people to have better social relationships with the citizens. They will be benefited when they need help from others. Folks tend to show more empathy to those they know rather than to strangers, therefore they are more open to offering help. Aside from the positive aspects, it also possesses negative sides. People lose chances to land a better job. Many people migrate to another city because it offers various job vacancies that pay better than the local jobs. For instance, in Jakarta, there are more positions available that offer a great amount of paycheck compared to in Cimahi. In conclusion, the preference to stay in their hometown is because people already feel comfortable with their city and they prefer to live near their relatives. Although this situation possesses a positive side which is having a better social connection with the residents, it limits their career choices.