Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages?

In most schools around the world, tests and examinations are required as a procedure to check students ' understanding. A question that is often brought up is, 'is it necessary to have a test or exam to test a student's understanding?'. There are several benefits as well as drawbacks that can be discussed. In many schools, tests and examinations seem to be the essential key to accomplish before students can move on to the next chapter or grade. The requirement is to see if students can apply their knowledge in certain situations or scenarios. If knowledge acquired is not put to use, they are likely to forget this information in the end. Therefore, a test is required to check their interpretation. The results can also motivate students to work harder and pay more attention in class which can improve their academic performance. On the contrary, tests and exams do have many drawbacks and impacts on students. Often time, students are stressed out due to enormous hours spent studying while juggling their personal lives. This can put a lot of pressure on them and affects their mental, emotional and psychological health. Eventually, this would also affect their physical health such as hair loss and lower immunity. In conclusion, once benefits and drawbacks are put on a scale to measure what is more than another, I believe that tests and examinations are necessary and outweighed their drawbacks. This way, it would allow both students and teachers to evaluate if the information obtained is what is called knowledge or just a recitation of information, yet to forget.