Some people believe that it is better to live and work in vertical cities. Others, however, think that horizontal cities are better for living and working. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the present age, whether vertical cities provide more benefits than horizontal cities has sparked much debate. Many people assert that city dwellers in vertical cities have more modern living circumstances, whereas some argue that horizontal cities offer residents much more privacy. I am in favour of the former view. Convincing arguments can be made that vertical cities provide a more convenient living environment for residents. To start with, the security requirements of metropolitan residents will be catered to as a result of installed state-of-the-art means of safeguarding vertical complexes. In other words, all parts of complexes will be monitored and recorded to discern doubtful commutes. Moreover, Vertical buildings enjoy collective management so that individual preferences will be cast aside to deal with building issues. For instance, when the occasion arises for the renovation of common properties everybody should abide by the board of the building decisions and in this way probable conflicts will be avoided; therefore the building would be in the best condition because fixing problems would never be delayed. Lastly, recreational facilities will be afforded recreational facilities rendering their life more convenient and comfortable in such a way that in leisure time their need for going out for outdoor activities will be obviated. Specifically, in the most convenient course of action, flat dwellers will be able to have a marvellous time together. Consequently, their time will be more likely to be saved to being together more. Admittedly, by living in horizontal cities, individuals' privacy can be retained far better. The reason for this is you are not likely to be mandated to encounter diverse people and their preferences; hence, they would more feel at ease when you are not required to share some parts of your accommodation with others. Even so, these people still are highly prone to be burglarized and possess their privacy invaded because of easier access of strangers and burglars to penetrate horizontal buildings. Thus, the benefits of horizontal cities are quite limited. In summary, I would concede that horizontal cities entail some merits. Despite that, vertical cities certainly support residents in a much better way. Overall, I am convinced that people should reside in horizontal cities.