Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Since plastic was invented many years ago, it has been utilised in almost every realm of life. Despite the fact that synthetic products are tremendously convenient for day-by-day usage, it inevitably harms the environment. In this essay, I will outline some of the effects that the wrong plastic recycling causes and propose measures that governments and individuals can take to alleviate them. First and foremost plastic and all related products decay much longer than almost all other types of waste, which deters paper or food leftovers from disintegration. There are a number of garbage dumps, for instance, in remote from cities areas which cannot be utilized by the nature due to plastic in large quantities. Some countries try to bury vast humps of the garbage but, in fact, it makes the situation even worse as all decomposed products are soaked in the ground mixing up with groundwater. There are, however, some better ways to tackle this problem. Governments are known to have enough power to gradually decrease the impact of plastic waste on the environment. Incorporating additional taxes for companies which use polymers in their procedures seems to be an appealing option. Should factories pay more in a government budget, there will be more funds to go against plastic abuse. In this case, a government is able to spend money on social advertisements which are aimed to encourage citizens to sort litter or purchase second -handed items. These measures would not roll back the damage that had been done to nature but, at least, could slow down the overall contamination. In conclusion, even though the plastic invention has made our lives more comfortable and affordable, there are plenty of caveats that we have to consider in order to prevent dealing damage to the environment.