Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in piblic services instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

I strongly disagree with the proposition that the Government must divert investments in the various art forms to public services. There are various reasons why I consider this to be an egregious sentiment and I could expand on each consideration below. While there is no doubting the importance of public services, we must be cognizant of the fact that the very people who use these services also need to rejuvenate and relax. Music is a great example of an immediate mood uplifter. It has the ability to transport someone to an ephemeral state of nirvana. Although individuals may have varied tastes, there is no paucity of genres. With greater investment in music, we can expect an increase of a wider pool of talent, especially amongst the teenage and young adult age groups. Despite its diminishing popularity, the art form of theatre is one that is upheld in great esteem amongst the erudite. It is a throwback to the bygone era when we did not have access to the television or social media. An injection of investment in this may be the much needed push it needs to regain popularity amongst the nation's youth. Throughout time, we have witnessed several eras of great literature and subsequently fantastic theatre and with further investment, we could may be see the modern day Romeo and Juliet. In conclusion, regardless of what my personal views on the arts are, I still believe this infusion of money should be equitable and homogenous rather than a unilateral exercise. Public services continue to be a vital pillar of the civilised society and therefore, investments in this sector should also be reflective of this without ignoring the several enchanting art forms.