Some people think governments should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles in order to solve environmental problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, the demand for cars and vehicles has driven widespread air pollution problems. As an answer to this issue, increasing the cost of fuel for vehicles might have been suggested in many areas. I understand this viewpoint, however, I personally disagree with this suggestion because we cannot maintain our lives without using cars and other vehicles. Firstly, increasing the price of fuel ultimately cannot solve pollution problems. Undeniably, for decades, having cars and other vehicles such as buses or trucks is essential in our daily lives because it is the quickest and the easiest way to get to the destination. Most people seem likely to use those vehicles for their convenience even if the oil price has risen. For example, other vehicles which don't use oil, like riding a bike or subway, are uncomfortable. Especially, in the subway, a lot of people are packed in small spaces, which makes them feel stuffed and inconvenienced that we have to stand close to strangers. As a result, I believe that we cannot stop lowering the rates of car usage by increasing oil prices. Moreover, there are several reasons why the government should not increase the cost of fuel. This has detrimental effects on the public financial struggles. Just imagine that if the cost of fuel increases, the expenditure of standard living costs might be able to increase, which can be a burden to people. Also, not only living costs but also the price of products and services will rise, then eventually the satisfaction of the general public will decrease. In addition, especially in the countryside or remote areas, low-income inhabitants may wrestle with using driving vehicles because of the price of fuel. What I am concerned about is that this situation will contribute to social inequality which is harmful to social harmony. For these reasons, I think raising the price of fuel for vehicles has more drawbacks than we have commonly assumed. In conclusion, although increasing the cost of fuel might be able to reduce the rate of using cars to some degree, I firmly believe that it should not be increased because vehicles are an important method in our lives and this could lead to detrimental effects on our society as a whole. I suppose we should find another alternative way to mitigate the environmental problems instead.