One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

In recent days, thanks to the ability and relentless effort of scientists, various treatments for dangerous diseases have been found and this contributes greatly to the improvement of human health. As a result, the lifespan of mankind is longer than it used to be. In my opinion, I believe this phenomenon has both pros and cons, but I argue the benefits will outweigh the drawbacks. To begin with, there are numerous issues associated with this development. Firstly, increasing longevity leads to the ratio of an older population. The authority has to face up to the economic burden as they need to support the elderly who cannot fend for themselves in terms of finance. Consequently, with a large population of old residents, the economy will be negatively affected. Secondly, the lack of human resources is a problem worth worrying about. To explicate, when people live longer and get older, the resources of young staff will become inadequate, especially in the fields of producing goods which need a big team of employees. On the other hand, I acclaim that longer life expectancy is beneficial in many ways. These elderly people can remain active and energetic in their workplace. Therefore, they can contribute to society despite their old ages. For example, they could do voluntary work or help families by taking care of the children. In addition, the older generation is an asset to the country as they will pass down traditional values to the young, which would help the younger ones better understand the past. Besides, when people have a longer lifespan, they will have more time for their lives and families. In conclusion, although enhanced longevity brings about some possible disadvantages, I believe its advantages would outweigh its drawbacks because development in science probably improves the quality of human life.