Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

Since the Industrial Revolution, environmental pollution has never ceased to draw public attention as well as provoke debates. There are multiple causes of contaminating and undermining living habitats but virtually they are instigated by human activities. In this essay, the causes and remedies will be discussed. First, technology innovation has led to the advent of new kinds of transportation and the possession of private vehicles. Now people can commute faster with convenience and comfort. But everything has its own strengths and limitations. The fumes emitted by traffic vehicles have become the root cause of the greenhouse effect which leads to global warming, thereby changing the weather and globally causing natural disasters. Second, the increasing urbanisation and industrialisation have promoted the deforestation and destruction of the natural habitat of many species. Some creatures are even being pushed to the edge of extinction due to human practices, threatening the balance of the ecosystem. Many methods have been proposed in order to tackle the problems. But after all, governments should become the backbone of the efforts. Firstly, lawmakers should enact the policies regulating and restricting the number of greenhouse gases and attempt to reduce the fume emission by imposing environmental taxes on vehicles along with developing the public traffic system such as buses and subways. Secondly, the regulations on urbanisation and industrialisation should be revised in order to assure that they will not be detrimental to the natural habitat. In addition, penalties should also be imposed to prevent forest destruction. In conclusion, it is human practices that contribute to the downgrading of the natural environment. Governments should be the instructors and leaders in the eradication of this matter.