Some expert believe that it is a better for children to begin learning of foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this out weigh the disadvantages.

There has been a controversy about whether children should learn a foreign language at a young age. I think it has some merits and demerits, but the advantages still outweigh its disadvantages. My reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First and foremost. It's easier to learn and to be proficient at a young age. Our mother language system won't be formed when we are young, and kids tend to have a better memory than adults; therefore, when kids study a foreign language at a very young age, such as at the primary school, it will be more effective than studying at secondary school. Should they begin learning a foreign language at secondary school, their mother tone system can adversely influence the learning progress to a large extent, such as the pronunciation, and the language logic. It's worth mentioning that the earlier you begin learning a foreign language, the more vocabulary you can have. As we know, learning vocabulary requires time; hence, were you to learn the language quite young, you would have more time to memorize more vocabulary. Second, children will have fewer psychological barriers. It's common that whenever we speak a foreign language, we worry about if the grammar is correct or do the words we use can really express the meaning. As a result, we might become scared of speaking a foreign language. On the contrary, children won't have this concern, not only because their language system is still not developed yet, but also because kids tend to have fewer psychological burdens. At this point, should children start learning a new language quite young, they don't feel shy when they speak it. On the other hand, learning a new language at a young age has demerits too. For example, it brings about a lack of a sense of cultural belonging. Take me as an example. I started learning English around 8 years old, and I have been using it for almost half of my life. As a consequence, I know more about Western culture than Chinese culture, and I'm quite confused about which side is genuinely my home now. In conclusion, I think the advantages outstrip its disadvantages.