To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

As food scarcity is rising today due to the increasing population, to tackle this problem, shifting to consuming edible insects seems to be an alternative solution. Nevertheless, some people claim that it can impose a negative impact on nature as well as all unhealthy to consume. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages in harvest edible insects as a food source. The greatest benefits of shifting to edible insects for food are cost-efficient and alleviating the problem of food shortages. Various insects can serve as a protein source and yet harvesting them is easy and cheap. For instance, in Thailand, people have been eating insects for decades and can purchase them at a low price in every part of the country. There are particular farms that grow these insects for such a purpose, without harming the environment, yet help the economy to grow. Thus, many people begin to see insects not just for consumption but also for creating jobs. On the contrary, it also comes with multiple drawbacks. Many people claim that it can greatly affect the environment and is unhygienic to feed on. There are several cases where those who eat insects experience digestive problems like diarrhoea. For example, harvesting insects extensively can cause impacts on the environment as they are supposed to carry pollens for plant reproduction. This in turn could affect both humans and nature in the long run. In conclusion, the problem of food shortages has raised concerns as the population keeps rising. Many have turned towards edible insects to substitute and ease food scarcity; whereas, many see them as harmful to nature and mankind.