Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for goverments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no denying the fact that people are living longer than in the past, and this has led to an increase in the number of elderly communities in many countries. While ageing dwellers can create some problems for governments, as well as several benefits. In my opinion, the advantages slightly outweigh the disadvantages.

To begin with, there are many disadvantages of having an ageing culture. Firstly, governments may need to spend more money on healthcare and pensions for the elderly community. In other words, the older generation usually needs more medical treatment and financial support after they stop working. In addition, a large elderly population can reduce the number of people in the workforce. For example, if many workers retire at the same time, there may be fewer youngsters available to work and pay taxes.

On the other hand, there are some important benefits of having a more elderly community in society. Firstly, the older crowd have a lot of experience and knowledge that can be useful to younger generations. It is also possible to say that they can help their families by taking care of children and giving advice. Moreover, many elderly people remain active and continue working or volunteering after retirement. For instance, retired teachers can help young students, while experienced workers can teach useful skills to younger employees.

In conclusion, there are both advantages and disadvantages to an ageing population. Although it can put pressure on healthcare systems, pensions and the workforce, I believe that the benefits are slightly greater because elderly people can provide valuable experience, support their families and contribute to society.