In the developed world, average life expactancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that caould be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

People nowadays tend to live longer, particularly in developed societies, owing to advances in medical technologies and the rising living standard. However, this could pose challenges to both individuals and society, as will be addressed later along with certain possible solutions. For individual citizens, living a long growth seems not always to be appealing. The major problem is associated with the declining physical condition as well as some age-related ailments, which will indisputably deteriorate the later heart of the retirees. The ageing population are at a higher risk of suffering from diseases such as diabetes, heart attack and stroke, afflicting them by leaving them no choice but regularly see physicians, take loads of pills or even worse, undergo painful operations. As for the impact of an ageing population on society, there are also some dark sides. As the activity expectancy increases, the government has to pay more bills on taking care of the elders. Financial budgets are bound to be poured into covering the expenses of healthcare for the elderly or building more hospitals to accommodate senior patients. Meanwhile, when the proportion of the old exceeds that of the young, the social labour force would face a shortage risk, and the young and middle-aged ones would also need to be taxed more, rendering more instability in the overall social-economic structure. In order to lead a decent after-retirement soul, people should maintain wholesomeness before turning old. For example, they ought to develop a healthy lifestyle where regular exercise and salutary diets are required and enforced. In this way, they can, to a maximum extent, build a strong body to enjoy their later heart. When it comes to the fiscal burden the aged population would have on a nation, authorities could resort to a more diverse scheme of social safety and public welfare. Commercial insurance, for instance, can be supported by the government and recommended to the public as an alternative to public medical insurance. Also, states need to figure out policies and incentives to boost the birth rate, which would be of vital potential to alleviate the adverse influence of the lack of labour force and overtaxing. In conclusion, the increase in the length of growth can lead to puzzles for both ordinary people and the government, and consequently, both sides should feel obligated to deal with this challenge.