In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Regardless of the advancement in agriculture, people in different corners of the world still undergo starvation. This is occurring as the result of the wrong emphasis on agricultural products such as cash crops. As a solution to this cause, what can be done is to alter the focus of agriculture. To begin with, international trade definitely thrives the agricultural sector yet exacerbates the issue of food shortages. Countries around the world only focus on maximizing profits by concentrating on cash crops rather than essential food crops. For instance, countries in Southeast Asia are known for their rice. Therefore they concentrate on producing more rice for export as these products can generate more money while neglecting the majority of the population. Subsequently, it aggravates the problem of starvation. Following such cause, a solution is to allocate portions of farmlands for particular plants to trade and provide another portion to grow what can feed the country is necessary. Governments can plan ahead on what type of crops or meat they would like to concentrate on for trading while managing enough portions to feed the people. For example, if rice can be used for trading then focus on that as well as manage some farmlands for other types of products that can be used as food sources like potatoes. As a result, it can alleviate the problem of food shortages and starvation.  To conclude, improvement in agriculture does not alleviate the problem of people around the world left being hungry. It is due to countries trying to maximize profits rather than looking after the well-being of their citizens. To tackle this issue, what can be done is to improve management and allocate lands wisely, for better welfare of the nation and national economy.