Question Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

The tendency for man to commit unholy activities has always been in existence from time past. The worrisome fact about this is that even after their first prison discharge, many felons are insistent on committing more atrocities. The factors responsible for this are not far-fetched, and will be discussed in this essay alongside the measures that can be taken to curb it. Firstly, the reason for most first -time offenders committing crimes again after they have been released is due to a lack of skills or jobs. In other words, offenders are not given a chance to work since they have not acquired any form of skills during the period of reprimanding in prison. Secondly, repeat offending is also owing to stigmatization. As a result, many of them struggle to be accepted back into society. For instance, many culprits have been abandoned, condemned to live alone and die after they leave correctional centres because it is assumed that they are no longer useful to themselves and society at large. They are tagged and labelled as never doing well. Evidently, reoffending rate among criminals will be greatly reduced if these factors are considered and implemented. There are two effective solutions to the problems of hoodlums going back to their former crimes. One way to tackle this is to ensure skill acquisition programs are organised for con while in prison. By so doing, it becomes easier for them to get employment or even set up their own businesses, hence, this will help them to be busy with positive thoughts. Another way of dealing with criminals who re-offend is to organize training and a pep talk on self-worth, then create awareness, and educate the public against societal discrimination. This will hopefully prevent denouncement and encourage full acceptance back into the system without their feeling like outcasts. For instance, in Lagos state, governing bodies organised stigma and discrimination reduction programmes for people of that state and its environs. Therefore, some misdemeanours carried out by hooligans time without number even after their release from reprimand centres can be curbed with the help of acquiring skills while serving a jail term and the creation of awareness in society on a topic that matters of accusation and bigotry of ex-convicts.