Multination companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

As a result of globalization, developing countries are beginning to open their doors to welcome multinational companies into their countries. This essay will discuss the advantages as well as the disadvantages of this phenomenon. The most obvious advantage is the increasing job opportunities. When a company from abroad comes to a country, it will have to hire local workers. This will improve the level of employment in that country, hence the economy of the nation as a whole will also be improved. For example, one shoe factory in one city can employ thousands of people and thus boost the economy of that city. Another advantage is that people can enjoy using the products that are previously unavailable in their country. On the other end of the spectrum, the presence of multinational companies can bring damage to some national companies. Many small and medium enterprises could not compete and had to close their businesses. They generally have less capital compared to huge multinational companies, so it is not possible for them to create more products to increase their market shares. For instance, the aforementioned shoe factory can produce more shoes within a shorter period compared to local handcraftsmen who can only produce one pair of shoes every day. In conclusion, the growth of multinational companies in developing countries can be beneficial for the economic growth of the country but it can also kill the smaller businesses. It is important for the local government to keep supporting the domestic enterprises so they can stay alive.