some cities create new housing for their growing population by constructing a smaller number of high-rise buildings. other cities create more of low-rise building. which solution is better. in your opinion?

In order to tackle the problem of rapid population increase, the government has come out with two solutions; one is creating more high-rise buildings, and one is creating more low-rise buildings. Both solutions have merits and demerits, and I prefer the first solution. My reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. Let's talk about the advantages of high-rise buildings first. First, they use less public space. Due to high-rise buildings ' attributes, they don't require a large amount of space; therefore, more space can be saved, and they can better control the population in a certain area. It's worth mentioning that high-rise buildings are advantageous to the city's construction actually. Because they concentrate the population in a certain place, the government can build some infrastructure around these places, such as bus stations and shopping malls. As a result, the city will look more organized, and space that has been saved can be used to build other basic infrastructure, like hospitals. On the contrary, high-rise buildings have some demerits too. For example, they worsen global warming. Due to their attributes, they are high and are covered by glasses. As we know, the sunlight can be absorbed and reflected by these glasses. And on account of their height, they can easily block the wind; therefore, there will be a perennial high temperature in the city. It's worth mentioning that because these high-rise buildings can concentrate people together, the domestic appliances that are used by them produce heat. Hence, under the double whammy of a high temperature, these buildings can deteriorate global warming to a large extent. Let's talk of low-rise buildings now. First, they require a large amount of space. Because they are low-rise; in other words, they can't offer dwelling places to many people. Hence, the government needs to build more buildings to address this issue. As a result of having too many low-rise buildings in the city, they can ruin the city's structure and take away the places be belong to some infrastructure, like schools. In conclusion, I think building more high-rise buildings is more reasonable.