Some parents believe that their children should do educational activities during their free time. Others say that in this way children are under pressure. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate regarding how children should spend their leisure time. While some people argue that they have to engage in academic tasks, others claim that studies, even in their spare time, make them feel stressed. In my opinion, I agree with the latter view, because such time can be utilised for physical activities in order to have better concentration and improved focus. This essay will discuss both views and my opinion in detail with examples. On the one hand, parents think that children should focus more on education in their leisure hours. This is mainly because academics are more important for better career prospects in this competitive world. If students can achieve academic excellence, they will get good placement opportunities for tertiary education. As a result, they would be able to secure a high-income Job with better living standards. For instance, a recent report revealed that even though teens have higher grades, getting placements in the most recognised universities is often challenging. On the other hand, critics argue that continuous focus on education makes them feel under pressure. This means that when kids spend a lot of time studying, it can lead to mental illness, and therefore they fail to achieve success in education. In addition, if parents force them to do homework or project work, it makes them feel disoriented and causes a lack of motivation. For example, a recent report from WHO revealed that an average of 45% of anxiety and depression issues are suffered by young people before the age of 16, and many believe that it is due to academic pressure. From my perspective, I strongly agree that young people should have enough leisure time to reduce their educational stress. They should be motivated to take part in physical activities in order to improve their concentration and soft skills. In conclusion, although some advocates believe that children should focus only on education even in free time, I believe that such actions will have an impact on the mental well-being. In my opinion, I agree that such behaviour causes mental stress, and they should engage in other activities in their leisure time.