In many countries, people throw away a lot of food from restaurants and shops. Why do you think people waste food in this way? What can be done to reduce the amount of food thrown away?

In today's modern society, many people throw away a huge amount of food from stores and restaurants. This essay will examine the roots of this problem while also outlining some measures to minimize such waste. For a variety of reasons, dishes that are purchased from restaurants and stores are regularly squandered. To begin, it should be acknowledged that today's technological advancement is one of the major causes that boost the wastage of food. This is because foodstuffs such as processed food, and canned products are now mass-produced by contemporary feed manufacturing lines, making its more reasonable prices and convenient usage for inhabitants and enabling them to purchase vast quantities of meals, therefore wasting them without a second thought. This situation’s other contributing factor is that restaurants and consumers fail to make appropriate plans for preparing and buying meals. For instance, shoppers are frequently tempted to purchase items in bulk to attain lower prices due to their obsession with discounts. This could lead to an overabundance of foodstuffs, resulting in not fully utilizing and more leftovers. In light of the ever-increasing number of leftovers, some feasible solutions should be implemented. Specifically, the improvement of the educational system by the government that might be beneficial in alleviating this problem is strongly advised. In this way, citizens will be well-informed about the worth of foodstuffs, detrimental impacts on the environment as well as in-depth information regarding starvation in various parts of the world. Thus, people may raise their awareness and appreciate the value of foodstuff more. In addition, eateries ought to impose a heavy fine on their clients who can not finish the meals that they ordered. For example, a Chinese restaurant offering an all-you-can-eat buffet is charging customers £20 in 'wastage' if they leave dishes on their plates. This will encourage customers to take their demands into consideration, and then request a sufficient serving size, consequently a bulk of uneaten feed will be curbed. In conclusion, overproduction and poor meal planning are two primary culprits of the cuisine issue occurring today. However, various efficient methods suck as creating shopping lists and enforcing penalization for leftovers can be adopted to tackle this problem.