What are the advantages and disadvantages of leaving your country to live or study abroad?

Nowadays it is widely spread among a young generation community to leave their country for some time to study, work or live abroad. Clearly, the cause of it is that young people are excited about getting to know different cultures, getting some new experiences and just creating some memories. In this essay, I will provide the advantages and disadvantages of moving abroad for studying and living. A major advantage of living abroad is the possibility to get knowledge from other nations and bring it to their own country. The main example is Russian Emperor Peter the Great, after living in the Netherlands he built St. Petersburg from the scratches in 1703. Through the influence of living in Europe, he wanted to connect Russia with it and that is why the second city’s name is Window to Europe. Another argument in support of living abroad is practising a language. Statistics demonstrate that the best way to improve language skills is to interact with native speakers. That is why living abroad is the best way to improve language level. On the other hand, countries are massively losing their workforce. Companies can be closed or downsized, all of which leads to a country’s economic crisis. Another drawback is that foreigners take the workplace of the citizens and it makes people protesting. As an example, in Germany people did not support the idea of giving 50 per cent of workplaces to foreigners, as it is also hard for citizens to find a job. To summarize, living abroad benefits outweigh the drawbacks. Nevertheless, moving to another country is a tough process and facing difficulties is a common problem.