Research into new types of medicine and treatments are essential to improve health and deal with diseases. Who do you think should fund these researches : private companies, individuals or the government ?

As a result of advancements in technology over the last two decades, several innovative methods have been developed to increase the standards of health and combat various diseases. But the authority that should be in charge this research has been a perennial subject of debate. In my opinion, to have a better outcome, the majority of the ownership has to be taken by the government. Firstly, the equipment which is used in this form of research is very expensive. According to the financial status and the budget planned, it can be thoroughly examined to determine the funds allocated to this research department. As a result, the money can be utilized in an efficient manner without any unnecessary expense. Moreover, in the recent days, the number of scams and bankrupts are increasing especially in private companies. This can be easily avoided under the supervision of government. On the other hand, some of the private companies should have the access for their research. Moreover, it enables the government authorities to reduce the pressure by distributing the work. Additionally, the production of medicines can be doubled, and the availability can be maximized in a faster rate. For instance, in the initial stage of COVID-2019 pandemic, most of the vaccines were developed by the private companies across many countries and distributed among the public. This has helped a lot of people to recover from the disease. To conclude, with proper monitoring and surveillance, both private companies and the government can go hand-in-hand to efficiently conduct research and develop more medicines.