In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some communities, kids sometimes receive the message that if they work hard enough, they can get anything they want. In my opinion, this trend has both benefits and drawbacks. On the one hand, there are a number of benefits when kids receive messages like this. Firstly, it would help them enhance motivation and determination when trying things new because they can set ambitious goals and put effort into achieving them. Secondly, It promotes a growth mindset, therefore, when they face challenges, they will think that are opportunities for growth and development. My younger cousin is an example of this when he needs a band 7.0 IELTS score in 6 months to study abroad, he spent all his time to achieve that and now has a ticket going to Denmark as internship student. On the other hand, there are several major drawbacks related to this trend and the main negative effect is children may create unrealistic expectations. They would continue to do things that may not be suitable for their skills, knowledge and reality, which may make them frustrated, depressed and isolated when they can not achieve it. For example, many students in Korea decide to suicide when they score under their expectations. Additionally, It would be really bad for them when their knowledge is lacking, it may be easy for someone to use them for bad things like shoplifting or drug selling which would bring their life going to jail. In conclusion, in my opinion, giving some advice like this has both beneficial and detrimental effects on kids.