You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Modern technology has made it easier for individuals to download copyrighted music and books from the internet for no charge. To what extent is this a positive or a negative development? You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, it is more accessible for people to download copyrighted music and books from the Internet for free. This essay states that it is a negative development, because a big majority of individuals have no respect for other people ’s work. Moreover, I consider that a substantial fee needs to be paid when people decide to download copyrighted music or books, due to the fact that they may try to sell them with no legal rights. To begin with, a great number of artists, performers or authors, decide to upload their work online and set legal rights to avoid getting tricked by people who try to benefit from their work. Besides, there are numerous cases when individuals tried to illegally sell artists’ projects. Naturally, the safest solution is to compel people to pay a substantial fee before downloading books or music. For instance, in the UK, if the community wanted to benefit from artists’ work, it would have to pay a fee depending on the size of their work. On the other hand, people who decide to post their music or books on the Internet must protect their creativity. Additionally, by providing free materials to society, they are highly likely to find similar materials which are based on their original idea. This is why it is important for them to set a tax in order to avoid any inconveniences regarding their work and ideas. For example, in Romania, those who are willing to publish their work online have to be rewarded for their effort. In conclusion, even though modern technology simplified the process of downloading copyrighted materials and people can obtain them at no charge, they still have to be respectful regarding artists’ work.