Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Music is a language without limitations. It is widely considered that music is a unifier for people from all walks of life despite their cultural or social backgrounds, which I could not agree more. Unlike languages which take years of effort to learn, music is friendly to everyone. Some scientific research has proved that some responses to music tones are innate, which probably answers the question of why someone who does not understand the lyrics of a song can still appreciate the mood behind the melody. Hence, music cracks down cultural, language, and educational barriers. Moreover, music is a way of communication that transcends time. Throughout history, there is countless evidence of the ever-lasting influence of great music as it echos with universal sentiments. For instance, Beethoven’s symphony has been and will always be inspiring people from all over the world to fight against the so-called fate and destiny. That is because no matter how society and technology change, the highlights of human nature will remain constant, which is usually reflected in music masterpieces. Last but not least, music serves as the perfect starting point for understanding another culture. Almost every genre of music was created during a particular time, corresponding to a particular cultural change or when a group of people wanted to represent their culture in their own way. A good example would be the development of rap music, which helps us to have an insight into the lives and thoughts of African Americans at that stage. In summary, I am confident that the uniqueness and universality of music provide its ability to be enjoyed worldwide regardless of time.