Mumbai is the most lively city and becoming expensive to live in but still people want to live in this city. What are the advantages and disadvantages of living in Mumbai? What can be done to reduce the population in the city.

Of all the cities in India, Mumbai is the most sought after, even though living there is costly. Being the capital city, it has its advantages and disadvantages for those living there. This essay will look at the benefits of living in the city and at how other towns can be made appealing to residents so as to reduce the population in Mumbai. Big cities usually have more job opportunities than other smaller locations. Hence those who live there, do so to exploit them. Most Multinational Corporations, for,example Coca-cola,put up structures in the main towns of countries rather than smaller ones. So employment is the first and foremost reason. Secondly, higher educational facilities such as universities and vocational colleges, are also more concentrated in the city. So if one wants to access them, they need to be living there. Due to this though, the population has become more than the resources available. This is its major problem. In order to curb this, there is a need for job creation in smaller township so that migration out of Mumbai is an option to cut down costs. Secondly, there is also a need to avail facilities for higher learning in rural and semi-rural areas. There will be no need to move if people are able to access what is offered there, in the locality. In conclusion, though being the main city, life in it is expensive and crowded. In order to mitigate these issues, I firmly recommend that smaller towns and rural areas be given investment so as to become employment creators as well as have educational facilities.