Today, fashion is becoming more and more important in choosing clothes. What are the reasons? Do you think the trend is positive or negative?

Choosing clothes after the latest fashion trend has been ubiquitous. In this essay, I will give the reasons for this phenomenon and explain why I think it brings more pitfalls rather than positive effects. There are several reasons why there is an increasing fashion factor in choosing garments. First of all, everybody is more aware of catching up with the latest fashion trend, and no one wants to look backward or different from others. As new seasons come out, consumers will come to stores and buy new sets of jeans and shirts. For example, after each fashion week, fashionistas tend to go shopping for the latest models. Fashion, furthermore, is associated with wealth and standing in society, so majorities prefer to choose clothes from luxury brands to show off. That said, there are many negative aspects of following fashion trends while choosing clothes. The trend changing too quickly will create fast fashion. A piece of shirt, for example, may only last for a few months which means clothes are thrown out after being worn two or three times only. Hence, more wastes are thrown out into the environment and this may lead to pollutants. Moreover, people may indulge in consumerism, which costs them thousands of dollars in liabilities. This is a waste of money since it could be invested in other aspects of their lives such as studies or assets. In conclusion, with the aforementioned, involving fashion in choosing clothes creates detrimental impacts. People should not look at other choices of clothes to judge their values, simply wear garments as long as it is comfy and wearable.