Adults do less exercise nowadays. Some people thi it that people can be encouraged to live healthy lives through sporting events such as the Olympics and World cups. Others think that there are better ways to encourage adults to do exercise. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent days, due to the hectic lifestyle and technology development, people tend to spend less time exercising. There is a statement saying that sporting events namely the World Cup or Olympics can act as a motivation for the community to workout more, while some individuals believe various solutions such as raising the public’s awareness of diseases associated with inadequate exercise and holding events for residents to take part in are more effective. In my opinion, I approve of the latter idea. To begin with, athletic tournaments are thought to encourage people to take up sports. Many adults easily get inspired and impressed by their favourite sports players they watch on television as people have an inherent tendency to learn from their role models. Therefore, celebrities can set a good example for audiences to follow their healthy and balanced lifestyles through their performances. For instance, in Australia, the annual sports data shows an increase in gym memberships after every NRL grand final. That is the reason why annual games should be conducted at national and international levels. On the other hand, I believe there are better ways to motivate adults to work out. Since workers spend most of their day doing their jobs, they hardly have time for exercising. It is necessary that the company itself holds numerous sporting events for employees to engage in. This not only contributes to the improvement of workers’ health but also helps to better their performances at work by reducing stress. Take Thanh Thang Company in my area as an example, this company holds an event every two months and all employees can join. Moreover, public talks and campaigns about the risk of diseases caused by the deficient amount of exercise should be provided for residents. As a result, they will try to find time for activities for fear of these illnesses. In conclusion, although conducting sporting events can encourage adults to take up sports in various ways, I believe some solutions mentioned above are more effective. Health is one of the most important things in our lives, so it is vital to lead a healthy lifestyle with enough workouts.