Some people believe that housing is a basic human right for all individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In a current world where human rights are universally treated as a number one priority, many activists are convinced, that housing is not just a commodity and every individual must have a roof over his head. Having said that, with the tremendous increase in homelessness rate in many countries it's becoming more challenging to provide the required accommodation for everyone, and consequently, other activists doubt whether it should be considered a right altogether. Firstly, in an ideal scenario, the government grants its citizens a plethora of basic human rights in general: freedom of speech, right to privacy, security and life. Consequently, it can be concluded that all mentioned before elements naturally indicate, that a person must have a place of residence, for if he is homeless, how can the government guarantee the basic rights? Moreover, the authorities typically provide shelter for people in need, especially during rough weather conditions, in high-crime neighbourhoods or in times of economic crises. However, it is extremely important to differentiate people who lost their homes under external circumstances or ones who never had a place of living from the start, from those who intentionally lost their property or were directly involved in this process. For example, if gamblers, drug addicts or sex workers lose their homes or get evicted as a consequence of their reckless actions and they are still granted housing legally, it raises a sense of impunity among these groups as they may continue to behave the same way as they did before. Subsequently, although it is important to give a second chance, this example creates a great dilemma for the question. In conclusion, while I firmly believe, that housing is an essential element of everyday life and it is important to help people in need of a roof over their heads, I disagree with the fact that it should be universally treated as a right. While being a commodity of great value, it should not be abused in the contemporary world.