In some countries, owning a home rather than rent is important for people. Why is this the case? Do you think that this is a positive or negative situation?

In certain nations, it is commonly suggested that individuals should own their own homes rather than renting since, in these countries, local real estate agencies and governments often collaborate to offer enticing incentives that take advantage of individuals. However, I personally believe that this is not a practical or cost-effective solution. Instead, living in affordable rental houses or apartments enables individuals to allocate their resources towards other important endeavours. In the following paragraphs, I will provide examples to support this argument. In many countries where home ownership is encouraged, individuals are often led to believe that owning a house and raising a family are the most important aspects of life. However, with the rise of social media and online information platforms, such as Facebook and YouTube, individuals are beginning to recognize that there are other lifestyles that are just as valid. In fact, in developed countries such as the United States, Britain, and Japan, there are now more couples without children or single households than ever before. Furthermore, a recent survey in Japan in 2023 revealed that the most common reason for not owning a house was the desire to travel and gain new experiences. In addition, governments and real estate agencies often prioritize revenue generation over their citizens' well-being. They view the purchase of houses in certain prefectures or countries as an opportunity to increase tax revenue. Consequently, the focus is on revenue rather than the happiness of the people. For example, one advantage of owning a home is the stability it provides and the strong sense of community that develops between local residents. However, in reality, many individuals are forced to sell their homes at a lower price than initially purchased, particularly towards the end of their lives. This situation frequently leads to feelings of sadness and depression, especially among elderly individuals who witness disputes over household rights between their siblings. Moreover, the necessity to work diligently in order to purchase a home often results in a fruitless sale in the end. In summary, although some people still believe that owning a home is a symbol of a good living standard, an increasing number of individuals are becoming aware of this misconception through the use of the internet. The government should work together with real estate agencies to address this issue in a manner that enables more individuals to live happily and comfortably until the end of their lives.