Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In-demand sports affairs like the football World Cup and other widely-known sporting events are important in reducing global apprehensions and letting go of nationalistic spirit in a harmless way. I strongly believe that this is the case, however, there is a certain problem during these situations. Initially, international sporting events create a stage wherein all of the nations worldwide get to compete with each other. This would be considered a safe space for the patriots to release their tension and focus on the game while supporting their home team. Secondly, there may be cases where certain countries have internal conflicts. Instead of wasting their energies on these conflicts, these sporting events help these patriots and their government alike, to get along with each other and support their country's team together. There have been a lot of cases where this happen, for instance, Manny Pacquiao has been bringing pride and joy to the Filipinos and the Administration even though there are a lot of unsolved internal disputes. It is a point in time when everyone in the country gets along well with each other and takes pleasure in being a Filipino and forgets about discord. However, there is a downside where if there is a winner there will always be a losing team. This may cause resentment from the latter toward the former. Disagreements may arise from thoughts that may be a certain competitor cheated, or if they have been judged poorly. Although, this may not always be the case and can be settled promptly. To sum up, I still strongly believe that these worldwide sporting occasions help alleviate global disputes and release patriotism in a safe and controlled way. I certainly hope these types of international sporting traditions would go on continually.