In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Currently, in various nations, consumers can access food products from different countries through supermarkets. This essay will examine both the advantages and disadvantages of this trend and present my perspective.. On the one hand, the abundance of imported goods imposes some drawbacks. One detrimental effect is the potential loss of some traditional food causing the youth to gradually be isolated from their tradition. Customers, especially the young, bombarded by advertising from Western-style fast food chains like KFC, McDonald’s, Burger King, and Domino’s, tend to prefer culinary offerings from these brands over their traditional dishes. The flourishing of artificial flavour imported canned drinks such as Coca-Cola and Pepsi not only deteriorates local beverage production but also raises health concerns in the long term. As a result, the younger generation will feel more connected with these foreign brands rather than their local speciality leading to the loss of their traditional identity. On the other hand, one of the benefits of importing and exporting victuals from various regions is the opportunity to promote diverse local cultures. Exporting processed or ready-to-eat meals to international markets allows countries to introduce their traditional cuisines, which can represent national identity. Take Vietnamese spring rolls, called “nem”, beef noodles, pho, and grilled pork with noodles “bun cha” as an example, these signature meals have become more popular than ever everywhere from restaurants across the US to fine dining rooms in Paris and London or within the food courts in Singapore. Moreover, selling local agricultural products to foreign importers can contribute to local economic growth. Through the taste of these products, a considerable number of travellers are attracted to visit their homeland, resulting in enhancing local tourism. For instance, according to a 2023 Vietnam Airlines report, the number of flights to Vietnam has recently increased significantly since the participation of Vietnam in the International Cuisine Festivals in Europe and in the USA, doubling compared to the previous year. In conclusion, although there are concerns regarding the disappearance of local culture, negative effects on local production of some products, and health problems, I believe the advantage of exported groceries in promoting local dining culture and stimulating local tourism as well as growing in national GDP can be a positive development as a whole.