In many countries today,crime novels and tv crime dramas are becoming more and more popular why do you think that these books and tv shows are popular? what is your opinon of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Crime stories either on TV shows or in book novels have become popular across the world. There are possible reasons for this preference among the audience and this essay will present some reasons for this popularity. One obvious why many people are choosing to watch or read crime dramas is basic curiosity. Usually, thriller dramas engage us by the mystery and the human mind is triggered in solving the puzzle behind the story. For instance, it is very common that viewers to try to figure out who is the killer alongside the fictitious detectives while the drama is displayed. Furthermore, not only do these shows catch our attention by curiosity, but also by presenting the extreme of human behaviour. Even those who are non-violent members of our society are intrigued by how violent humans may act. While I agree that, as described above, there are many features that make them very attractive for many individuals, I personally do not enjoy them. Basically, I think they are extremely violent and can negatively influence our society. This is particularly relevant among the young audience as their personality are still being shaped and the limit of what is right and wrong is not very clear. Moreover, some patients with mental illness also watch or read those novels, and it may push them to commit brutal acts. For example, in my home country, a young man killed people in a movie theatre, later he was diagnosed with schizophrenia and told the police officers that he got the idea after watching a movie. In a nutshell, there are numerous aspects of crime that make it a favourite topic for drama stories. However, I hypothesize that if these stories were excessively violent they would cause more harm than benefit to our society.