Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be case ? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed ?

There is an increasing number of people who have a desire to be freelancers across the globe these days. This essay demonstrates first the reasons for this choice such as unjust requests for a low salary by corporations followed by an analysis of breakdowns of being self-employed like unstable earnings and non-exact work time and the results of these factors which are extremely effective for the individuals' health. To begin with, most companies request high-level specific knowledge and soft skills, although they offer inadequate salaries to employees. In other words, if candidates have a desire for high income and positions in any esteemed companies they should obtain one of the prestigious universities' diplomas. Moreover have valid skills, for instance, communication and teamwork abilities or proficiency in at least one foreign language, especially English. Therefore, workers particularly, the young prefer being freelancers to build their own teams with close companies or to learn any skills or knowledge at an average level, for example, graphic design Regarding the disadvantages of this socioeconomic trend, it is undoubted that they affect negatively people's psychology. Firstly, a non-exact work timetable leads to inadequate sleep in the long term. Secondly, working as a self-employed has an unstable gain that leads to additional stress because of the control of a balance between income and expense. According to the WHO's 2017 psychological statistics, employees in the UK who began working self-employed within the past three years reported a 27% increase in stress-related psychological problems, including depression and anxiety. Based on this evidence, it is seeable that self-employed workers might face higher rates of psychological issues compared to those with traditional employment. In conclusion, although there are some reasonable factors for being self-employed such as an imbalance between requirements and the salary offered, this trend has its damages on psychological health.