Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society others say that schools are the best way to learn. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a widely held belief that family plays a key role in making the younger generation responsible members of society. But, at the same,time there is also a strong counter-argument from some sections of people that educational institutions are responsible for making teens more polite. However, I am of the opinion that is a matter to be debated in light of several factors before any conclusions are drawn. It is generally believed that home is the first school and the parents are the first teachers. To elucidate, home is considered a setting for an individual’s physical, mental and emotional growth. The family plays a significant role in instilling moral values in children from the beginning. In the same vein, the proponents of parents must educate their offspring to be more responsible also claim that most juveniles imitate the behaviour of their family members, both inside and outside of the home. Therefore, it is easy to inculcate the values and responsibilities. Last, though by no means the least, the advocates of this view draw strength from the fact that customs and traditions taught by the parents benefit teens to be more disciplined and organised. On the other hand, there are certain groups of people who vehemently contend that schools are the perfect place to educate young people to be more respectful and accountable. This is mainly because learning received from parents is practically implemented in institutions which makes them more complete. To illustrate, according to a popular survey values taught by parents such as respecting others, and greeting the elders regularly are implemented in schools on a regular basis. Finally, in institutes the same group of people are taught together, this will help them evolve at a correct pace of growth. Thus, it is evident from all the discussion till now that both arguments carry strength and significance and neither can be refuted outright. Nonetheless, I personally subscribe to the proposition that family members such as father and mother play a key role in making their children more responsible because of the fact that they spend most of the time together at home which makes it easy to instil the values of the society.