A huge amount of money goes towards children’s education. In some countries, the government pays some or all of the costs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Governments in some countries spend large amounts of money on children’s education. I completely agree with the idea that these are the right place the money should be allocated, and this policy has more advantages than disadvantages. There are several reasons why the government should pay as much as possible for education. Firstly, everyone should have equal rights to education. It should be protected by the government, just like the human rights and health system. To be more specific, if someone does not have the equal opportunity to receive the same education as the others, he is certainly being treated unfairly. Secondly, free education allows poor people as well as the rich access to education. Even though their life starts in completely different environment, they would share the same education and spend time together in class, which can narrow the gap between them and let them have the chance to learn from each other. Finally, free education could reduce the crime rate in the country. It is no doubt that people who have received higher education have a lower possibility to commit a violent crime. Instead of investing more in practicing armed guards for society, the free education system certainly is a long-lasting solution for the country. Admittedly, it is a financial strain for some countries to offer free education to all people, the government might need to increase taxes to afford it. However, it is no doubt to say more educated people can help a country develop and prosper. Free education not only can develop the intelligence of the youths but also enhance the civilization level of the whole country in a long-term way. Therefore, there are lots of benefits to paying the costs of education, and it is certainly outweighing the drawbacks. In conclusion, I understand people have concerns about investing fortunes in education, but it seems to me that paying the costs of children’s education have so much more advantages.