Some people believe that there will be a reduction in air travel in the future. Do you think that this trend is a positive or negative development?

Aeroplanes have become one of the most popular means of transport nowadays. However, some people project that there will be a decline in its popularity in the future. I support this notion as people will become more environmentally conscious and alternative ways of travel will be preferred. Flights are a very convenient way to reach one’s destination. This is because people are able to travel to far places in a shorter period of time, and services such as food, comfortable seats, and entertainment system are offered by airlines. They are also used for the transport of goods to different locations. For instance, companies like Amazon utilize this means to send products to customers as they are often time-sensitive. In cases of an emergency situation, helicopters are used to get to remote areas inaccessible by land. Despite the benefits, the drawback can’t be ignored. Aeroplanes have high emissions which are detrimental to the environment thus people will make more efforts to use other means to travel. Governments will support green energy use and invest in the research and construction of fast trains equipped with a higher speed than what is currently available. Rail transport is most likely going to become the most popular way as it will be powered by electricity and will not contribute to air pollution. Moreover, travelling by air is a very expensive means, and with a recession most likely to happen in a few years' time, people would not be able to afford it. To conclude, the forecast that air transport use will experience a downward trend is a positive development as this decreases air pollution, and in turn, slows climate change.