Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

The advancement of technology has brought numerous advantages to modern society. This was particularly demonstrated during the COVID-19 pandemic when lockdowns were implemented in many regions of the world. As a result, adults and children must work and study at home, and the affordability and accessibility of technology make it easier for them to maintain their jobs. However, I think it also leads to various negatives for the development of people as a whole, and I will explain the reasons in the following paragraphs. First, after a long period of working at home, the soft skills ranging from communication, time-management, and problem-solving may become limited. Therefore, this can create disadvantages for them when working in a real-world environment. For example, according to a recent survey conducted by the National University of Vietnam, about half of the secondary students have difficulty communicating with their teachers, and the ability to make new friends declined significantly after a year of studying online. This also impacts their academic records due to a decrease of about 20% compared to when students learn directly at school. Secondly, adults are the subjects who suffer from the negative of working in a virtual environment as well, because their ability to adapt with adjustment has significantly declined in the real world. For instance, the economic researcher of the ABS University of Vietnam did some research about the methods to enhance the trust of customers; communication was the main key. This included physical communication as well. Hence, people without experience in communicating directly may not build trust with their customers. Consequently, the profit of their company will fall. Admittedly, studying or working at home has some benefits, such as the cost of their work will be lower. There will be no cost for transportation, uniforms, or time-consumption for traffic jams. And all they need to work is a computer or a laptop with a wireless router. However, this will limit their working capacity in the real working environment. In conclusion, working and learning online has some positives. However, this just has its effects in several fields or in the short-term period.