Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what ef ects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Many nations, worldwide still face the problem of illiteracy which is a serious matter. In today's world, poverty and overpopulation are the primary bottlenecks in the growth. There is a correlation between underdevelopment and lack of education, which we are going to know further in this essay. To begin with, in some countries an uneducated populace is a huge reason of concern as it is directly connected with its progress, for example; recently a rickshaw puller's daughter cracked the UPSC exam because of which the whole family progressed to a better lifestyle. Similarly, literacy leads to the development of not only the individuals but the entire society. Learning plays a vital role in the evolution of an advanced community, hence education is a pillar in supporting the advancement of society. Perhaps, overpopulation and poverty are the preeminent elements of illiteracy, for instance; Uttar Pradesh is a state where the literacy rate is low but poverty and population are at their peak, evidently, it is difficult for the government and authorities to provide facilities for educating their citizens. All available resources are used to meet basic needs like food and shelter, indeed these are the extensive roots of illiteracy. Naturally, with the rise in population assets fall short to cater to the essentials for development furthermore, this explains the un enlightenment, which becomes the cause of poverty. All of these result in a vicious circle of the interdependence of illiteracy, poverty and overpopulation. In conclusion, education is the platform for the upscale of the living standards of the nations, therefore lack of it remains a matter of concern for several nations. The high birth rates and shortages of funds call for uneducated citizens in the world.