Many people feel the urban encivronments are more unhealthy than they have ever been What do you think are the main causes of the problem? What measures can be effective in tackling this problem ?

It is certainly true that towns and cities all around the world have already been more polluted and much more unhealthy for the inhabitants of them. In my opinion, this situation is the direct result of human overpopulation, but there are many approaches to address the problem. One reason for the problem of unhealthy city environments is greater population density combined with increased traffic, which, in turn, causes pollution, like air and noise, as well as stress. For example, many countries worldwide, not just in Europe, are becoming more urbanised as people move to cities because of the entertainment and education facilities available, along with greater work opportunities. As a result, city life is considerably less wholesome now both physically and mentally than for previous generations. To make city environments healthier, however, several important steps can be taken. For example, urban areas can be made greener by introducing more green spaces, even if they are only micro-gardens with a few trees, shrubs and seats. This can lead to both cleaner air and reduced stress. The problem can also be addressed by public and private buildings being made greener with the creation of roof gardens for people to relax in. Having transport systems that are efficient, cheap and comfortable is another way of ensuring that cities are healthy places. Such a measure will also enhance the quality of city life by reducing air pollution and stress on the roads as people are drawn to using the transport system. Attractive buildings that integrate work and living conditions as well as facilities like leisure, health and education set in attractive open spaces, can also lead to improvements in the health of the urban environment. In conclusion, although a surge in the number of city inhabitants has been a root cause for cities being less healthy than in the past, existing issues in such places can be tackled with several simple strategies mentioned above.