Nowadays, many people have to work longer hours and they feel more stress out then before, what are the reasons and what can employer do to make their life easier.

It is undeniable that the working hours have increased in recent years, which significantly causes mental stress among individuals than previous. This essay will be explained the reasons caused for this phenomenon and provided some measures that organizations can adapt to eliminate it. To begin with, the enterprises strive hard to maintain their reputation and market value. As a result, unrealistic targets are enforced on people to achieve at work. Consequently, this may result in excessive workload and extra pressure on the person trying to meet these missions. Second, the cutthroat competition between coworkers is the dominant cause of pressure in the workplace, stimulating them to become the best performers and achieve good appraisals and get promoted in the future. Therefore, they might addict to the business to demonstrate their ability in front of the higher manager. In other words, the vast majority of the population has worked over the weekend in double shifts to chase the targets. For instance, in Hong Kong, approximately 60% of the workers have overtime work because of unrealistic missions. On the other hand, employers can take a few steps to reduce the stress among the employees. Firstly, the work burden should be reduced by evenly distributing the tasks among the team members. Due to this, one might not feel over-pressured and overburdened. Second, well-being programs can be provided to the workers and delivered to emphasize work -life balance. Third, the organization can also allow the worker to take a short break. For example, tea breaks or games for making the working environment more comfortable, proved to be an efficient tool to facilitate the working performance among the workmen. To sum up, stress caused due to prolonged work hours is of great concern. However, employers can combat it by maintaining a work -life balance and reducing workload.