The food travels thousand of miles from farm to consumer. Some people think it would be better to our environment and economy if people only ate locally produced food. What extent does the advantage outweigh its disadvantage?

It is often argued that some individuals believe it would be more effective for our environment and economy if individuals only had nearby locations the food transportation system spends a lot of time from farm to people to consume. From my perspective, the drawbacks of the issue are greater than the benefits since this phenomenon makes our daily routines deteriorate. To begin with, I accept that farming areas can preserved and prevent air pollution whereas almost all factories tend to be overcrowded in cities or suburbs. Firstly, ruined areas can keep the environment clean and it is heavily not detrimental. As a result, consumers can buy fresh food because they are eco-friendly harvested. For instance, in the USA, the government enacted a law that farmers can receive budgets if they cultivate grain with eco-friendly methods. As a consequence, farmers followed this enactment and it resulted in positive effects on both agricultural workers and consumers. Moreover, environments can be kept clean and purified since there are no facilities that make environments contaminated. Hence, the food chain will not be damaged and we can teach children various animals in order to develop their cognitive abilities. On the other hand, I am convinced that this argument could make people tired and terrible. First of all, it will be far more challenging for urban residents to purchase food and consume it because farmland is further located from cities. In this regard, an amount of budget will be needed to transport it and it leads to an increase in the cost of living. For example, in Korea, almost all food is being transported from other countries and ruined areas that are not close to urban areas. As a result, compared with other countries, the cost of food tends to be heavily expensive. Secondly, the cost of the transportation system is also expensive. If this phenomenon continuously continues, a number of lorry drivers will be required and it results in making pollutant air because a number of vehicles including lorries emit a huge amount of greenhouse gas. In conclusion, the drawbacks that brings to both people and environments should not be underestimated.